2010 4BR Awards - Introduction and categories


It's time to get your thinking caps on and start to vote in the categories to see who you think has been the best of the best in 2010.

4barsrest awardsIt's time to get your thinking caps on and start to vote in the categories to see who you think has been the best of the best in 2010.
It's award time again! We know everyone else gets in on the act at this time of year, but 4BR has been making these nominations for you, our readers to vote on (or not as the case may be) since we started in 2001, so we think they are of some importance.

And if you don't believe us, just ask last year's winners - it means something because brass band lovers have voted for them.

This year there are 9 categories for you to vote on: 

4BR itself makes just one award chosen by the 4BR team, and that is the ‘4BR Special Award', which is given to the person or organisation that we believe has enhanced the movement with distinction in the past year or more.

This year we have awarded it to the Scottish Brass Band Association for their continued innovative and inventive approach to promoting all aspects of brass banding.   


  • 4BR Special Award – Scottish Brass Band Association

    Our nominations are just that: They are just our five/six choices in each category that we believe should be considered for a possible vote.

    You do not have to vote for them, and we do give you the opportunity to make your own choice.

    However, please be sensible about it – we will ignore block votes if we feel someone is trying to usurp the democratic process.

    · Go to the voting form

    You have up until 12.00pm on the 31st December to register your votes, and the results will be posted on the 4BR site on New Year’s Day.

    These are the winners since we started the 4BR Awards in 2001.

    Band of the Year:

    2009: Cory
    2008: Cory
    2007: Grimethorpe Colliery Band
    2006: Grimethorpe Colliery (UK Coal) Band
    2005: Black Dyke
    2004: Yorkshire Building Society
    2003: Yorkshire Building Society
    2002: Fodens Richardson
    2001: Yorkshire Building Society

    Conductor of the Year:

    2009: Robert Childs
    2008: Robert Childs
    2007: Allan Withington
    2006: Allan Withington
    2005: Nicholas Childs
    2004: Ray Farr
    2003: David King
    2002: Russell Gray
    2001: David King

    Player of the Year:

    2009: Mark Wilkinson
    2008: Peter Moore
    2007: Hans Gansch
    2006: Katrina Marzella
    2005: David Childs
    2004: David Childs
    2003: Martin Winter
    2002: Morgan Griffiths
    2001: Peter Roberts

    CD of the Year:

    2009: Maestro – Foden’s
    2008: New Music for Brass Band – Foden’s
    2007: Vienna Nights – Black Dyke
    2006: Heaton – Volume 4 – Black Dyke
    2005: Tales and Stories – Eikanger Bjorsvik Musikklag
    2004: Music of the Spheres- Yorkshire Building Society
    2003: Bourgeois in Brass – Yorkshire Building Society
    2002: The Heaton Collection – Black Dyke and the ISB
    2001: Butterworth – Black Dyke

    Solo CD of the Year:

    2009: Salt of the Erath – Les Neish
    2008: Audacious – Steven Mead
    2007: Eminence – Richard Marshall
    2006: The World of the Euphonium – Volume 5 – Steven Mead
    2005: Blaze – Richard Marshall
    2004: Legend – Peter Roberts
    2003: A Winters Tale – Martin Winter

    Lower Section/Youth Band of the Year:

    2009: Oldham (Lees) Band
    2008: Smithills Schools Senior Band
    2007: Sellers International Youth Band
    2006: Pennine Brass
    2005: Marsden Riverhead Brewery
    2004: Smithills School Senior Band
    2003: Smithills School Senior Band
    2002: St. Dennis Band
    2001: Peter Hawke Garages Lindley Band

    Newcomer of the Year:

    2009: Lucy Pankhurst
    2008: Paul Duffy – Soprano
    2007: Proms Brass Day
    2006: English National Championships
    2005: Brass Band Aid
    2004: The National Children's Band of Great Britain
    2003: Emma Farrow - Euphonium
    2002: Simon Dobson - Composer

    Test Piece of the Year:

    2009: Titan’s Progress – Hermann Pallhuber
    2008: The Dark Side of the Moon – Paul Lovatt-Cooper
    2007: Music for Battle Creek – Philip Sparke
    2006: Vienna Nights – Philip Wilby
    2005: Eden – Dr. John Pickard
    2004: St. Magnus – Kenneth Downie
    2003: Festival Music – Eric Ball
    2002: Masquerade – Philip Wilby
    2001: Albion – Jan Van der Roost

    Contest Performance of the Year:

    2009: Fountain City Brass Band – Dreams (Scottish Open Championship)
    2008: Eikanger Bjorsvik – Riffs & Interludes (Norwegian Championship)
    2007: Brass Band Oberosterreich – Titan’s Progress (European Championship)
    2006: Black Dyke – Vienna Nights (British Open)
    2005: Black Dyke – Journey to the Centre of the Earth (European Championship)
    2004: Black Dyke – Montage (British Open)
    2003: Buy As You View Cory – Revelation (European Championship)
    2002: Yorkshire Building Society – Concerto Grosso  (European Championship)
    2001: Fodens – Les Preludes (British Open)

    4BR Special Award:

    2010: Scottish Brass Band Association
    2009: Ian Williams
    2008: Norwegian Band Federation
    2007: Peter Roberts
    2006: Markus Bach
    2005: David Gallaher
    2004: David Read
    2003: Salvationist Publishing and Supplies Ltd
    2002: Frank Hodges
    2001: Alan Jenkins





  • Archive...

    2016   2015   2014   2013   2012
    2011   2010   2009   2008   2007
    2006   2005   2004 (1)   2004 (2)   2003
    2002   2001