2010 Welsh Regional Championship - Third Section: Runners & Riders


It used to be a real Labour heartland in South Wales before Tony Blair messed things up. So which one of these bands can fly the old red flag and get to Harrogate.

BrangSaturday 20th March
Adjudicators: Colin Hardy
Test Piece: Labour & Love (Percy Fletcher)
Draw: 10.30am
Commences: 11.30am

The Welsh are a passionate lot when it comes to politics and love – so the six bands here shouldn’t have too much of a problem getting the blood bubbling in all the right places with this old pot boiler on Saturday.

Michael Foot

Whether or not their performances will be up to Michael Foot standards on the election trail, or Tom Jones in the boudoir department we may never quite find out, but ‘Labour & Love’ should make for a decent old challenge for the competitors.

Colin Hardy should have plenty to ponder over too, with six pretty well matched bands all looking to gain those two qualification places to Harrogate.

Not the best

Wales hasn’t got the best of records at this level comes the finals of late – just the one podium finish in fact in the last decade. You have to go back to 1992 for the last time the Red Dragon flag was raised in triumph in the heart of Yorkshire.

Still, that’s a record that could change, if any of these bands can really hit top form come September.

Fancied runner

Of those, Corus (Port Talbot) could be the most fancied runner.

Colin Hogg has done a splendid job building up a solid outfit, and with wins at the Gloucester contest and 3rd at Blaenavon late last year they could be in with shout of getting to Harrogate just two years after returning to contesting.

Two bands

The two bands that should be the bookies favourites to push them all the way should be Goodwick and Llwydcoed.

The remarkable bunch from Goodwick has blazed a bit of a trail in recent years on their travels. Runner up at Pontins late last year and 2009 Fourth Section Welsh League champions, Matthew Jenkins and his young band won’t be short of confidence.

So too, Llwydcoed, who return this year after failing to make it to the starting line up 12 months ago. 3rd at Gloucester, winners and crowned Welsh League champions at Blaenavon, they could be heading back to Harrogate for the first time since 2007 if they hit top gear.


Ebbw Vale
meanwhile will be looking to keep improving under the baton of the talented Ceri Thomas. Promoted from the Fourth Section after coming runner up last year, they posted a decent showing at Harrogate in coming 11th, and will be keen to return once again.

That leaves the two ‘O’ bands – Oakeley and Ogmore, both of who will be looking to make a solid impression on the weekend.

The North Walians return after missing out last year as they seek to return to Harrogate for the first time since 2005, whilst Ogmore will be looking to  carry on the good work laid down by Ivor Barnett as they seek a finals place for the first time since 2003.

As for a winner?  

A battle between the trio of Corus (Port Talbot), Goodwick and Llwydcoed for us, with the latter perhaps just missing out on this occasion.

The rest of the places may well be filled in any order, but we plumb for Ebbw Vale, Oakeley and Ogmore Valley.

The dark horse is any Tory politician who thinks there are votes to be won in these parts…  

4BR Prediction:
1. Corus (Port Talbot)
2. Goodwick
3. Llwydcoed
4. Ebbw Vale
5. Oakeley
6. Ogmore Valley

Dark Horses: N/A

CorusCorus (Port Talbot)
Colin Hogg

Last 14 Years:

2009: 3rd in Fourth Section (C. Hogg) (prom)
2008: DNC
2007: DNC
2006: DNC
2005: DNC
2004: DNC
2003: DNC
2002: DNC
2001: DNC
2000: DNC
1999: DNC
1998: 5th in First Section (D. Mahoney)
1997: 7th in First Section (D. Mahoney)
1996: 3rd in First Section (E. Clarke)

Ebbw ValeEbbw Vale
Ceri Thomas

Last 14 Years:

2009: 2nd in Fourth Section (C. Thomas) (prom)
2008: 4th (C. Thomas)
2007: 8th (C. Thomas)
2006: 9th (J. Rooke)
2005: DNC
2004: 7th (B. Davies)
2003: 8th (A. Browning)
2002: 7th
2001: 6th
2000: 7th in Second Section (rel)
1999: 10th
1998: Winners of Third Section (prom)
1997: 11th in Second Section (rel)
1996: 6th

GoodwickGoodwick Brass
Matthew Jenkins

Last 14 Years:

2009: 6th (C. Hogg)
2008: 5th (G. Ritter)
2007: 3rd (G. Ritter)
2006: 4th in Fourth Section (G. Ritter) (prom)
2005: 8th (G. Lane)
2004: 2nd (D. Wheeler)
2003: 9th (D. Wheeler)
2002: 8th (D. Wheeler)
2001: 7th (D. Wheeler)
2000: DNC
1999: 15th
1998: DNC
1997: DNC
1996: DNC

G. Davies

Last 14 Years:

2009: DNC
2008: 6th (R. Griffiths)
2007: Winners of Third Section (A. Davies) (prom)
2006: Winners of Fourth Section (A. Davies) (prom)
2005: 2nd (A. Davies)
2004: 12th (A. Davies)
2003: DNC
2002: DNC
2001: DNC
2000: DNC
1999: 14th
1998: N/K
1997: N/K
1996: N/K

Ogmore Valley
A. Jones  

Last 14 Years:

2009: 5th (I. Barnett)
2008: 8th (I. Barnett)
2007: 4th (I. Barnett)
2006: 8th (I. Barnett)
2005: 5th (I. Barnett)
2004: 3rd (I. Barnett) (prom)
2003: 2nd (I. Barnett)
2002: 11th (T. Charlton)
2001: 10th (T. Charlton)
2000: 10th in Third Section (T. Charlton) (rel)
1999: 8th
1998: 13th
1997: 6th
1996: N/K

OakelyRoyal Oakeley
J. Davies

Last 14 Years:

2009: DNC
2008: 3rd (J. Jones)
2007: DNC
2006: 5th (J. Jones)
2005: Winners of Fourth Section (J. Jones) (prom)
2004: DNC
2003: DNC
2002: DNC
2001: Winners Second Section (J. Jones)
2000: Winners of Third Section (J. Jones) (prom)
1999: 3rd (J. Jones)
1998: 10th (J. Jones)
1997: 2nd in Fourth Section (J. Jones) (prom)
1996: Winners of Fourth Section (J. Jones)

Past Qualifiers:

2009: Royal Buckley, Ynyshir
2008: Blaenavon Town, City of Cardiff (Melingriffth)
2007: Llwydcoed, Porthaethwy Menai Bridge
2006: Beaumaris B, Radyr and Morganstown
2005: Newtown Silver, Newbridge Celynen
2004: Newtown Silver, Royal Buckley
2003: Newbridge Celynen, Conway Town
2002: Blaenavon Town, Briton Ferry
2001: Beaumaris B, Cwmbran
2000: Royal Oakeley, Llanrug
1999: Rhyl, Ynyshir Welfare
1998: Ebbw Vale, Newtown
1997: Deiniolen, Pontardulais
1996: Deiniolen, Rhyl Silver
1995: Deiniolen, Rhyl Silver   

Welsh bands at the Finals:

2009: 6th, 16th
2008: 3rd, 17th
2007: 16th, 18th
2006: 8th, 16th
2005: 5th, 18th
2004: 11th, 19th
2003: 6th, 17th
2002: 4th, 19th
2001: 8th, 14th
2000: 14th, 16th
1999: 10th, 15th
1998: 10th, 14th    


2016   2015   2014   2013   2012
2011   2010   2009   2008   2007
2006   2005   2004 (1)   2004 (2)   2003
2002   2001