2006 Norwegian National Championships - Preview: Fourth Division


17 are set to take part in the Fourth Section, where they will have to impress the adjudicators who will be sat in the open once more.

Grieg HallThe lowest section in the Norwegian Championships sees 17 bands battle it out in the open forum brand of modern contesting. Nice to see this happening and with some pretty good choices from the bands (although one or two look a bit ambitious), and it should make for an open and enjoyable contest. It should also tell us a lot about the overall standard of banding in Norway as well.

There seems to a big turn over of bands in this section with a great number making their debuts this year. That is a great sign that the base of banding is expanding in the country, but there are also quite a few bands that have disappeared this year too.

For instance there is no sign of Manger Old Stars who came second here last year and gave so much pleasure to the audience with their brand of entertainment or the band who came third Skittenelev Musikkorps.

Last years winners were promoted up a section, but what has also happened to the likes of Fla Musikkorps and Fitjar, Ungdomskorpset Samklang, Musikkorps Heimdal and Gjallahorn? Are they still competing or isn't their standard good enough this year to make it through to the finals? If it is the latter then that is a pity as the Norwegians could possibly examine the chance of putting on an extra section here.

Thankfully other bands have made it through so it is nice to see the likes of IMI Brass who came second at SIDDIS, Hordvik who came fourth, Rosendal who came fifth and Hetlevik who came sixth amongst others. It should make for a cracking, and potentially unpredictable contest. Just how we like it!

Competing Bands:

Eigersund Blåseorkester:
Dag Voigt,
Own Choice Selection: A Malvern Suite - Philip Sparke

Frei Hornmusikk:
Stein Åge Sørlie,
Own Choice Selection: Inspiration - Jan de Haan

Grenland Brass:
Rune Hansen,
Own Choice Selection: Kaleidoscope (Five Variations on the Brugg Song) - Philip Sparke

Hetlevik Musikklag:
Jan Arne Pupe,
Own Choice Selection: A Malvern Suite - Philip Sparke

Hordvik Musikklag:
Knut Emil Mjøs,
Own Choice Selection: Triptych for brass band - Philip Sparke

IMI Brass:
Per-Erik Petersen,
Own Choice Selection: To serve and to save - Dudley Bright

Kaland/Lysefjorden Musikklag:
Oddvar Nøstdal,
Own Choice Selection: A Salford Sinfonietta - Darrol Barry

Kjølsdalen Musikklag:
Helge Øren,
Own Choice Selection: The Four Noble Truths - Philip Sparke

Kopervik Musikkorps:
Selmer Simonsen,
Own Choice Selection: Voyage of Discovery - Goff Richards

Kvikne Hornmusikk:
Geir Morten Øien,
Own Choice Selection: Orient Express - Philip Sparke

Lalm Musikkforening:
Morten Graff.
Own Choice Selection: March Prelude - Edward Gregson
Vikingkirken, Torstein Aagaard-Nilsen

Lismarka/Mesnalia Brass:
Morten Fagerjord,
Own Choice Selection: A Celtic Suite - Philip Sparke

Rosendal Musikklag:
Jan Magne Olsen,
Own Choice Selection: Essay for Brass Band - Edward Gregson

Rudsbygd Brass:
Grethe Berntsen,
Own Choice Selection: Schattdorf Impressions - Darrol Barry and Country Scenes - Goff Richards

Sauda Musikklag:
Eli Jorun Tangeraas
Own Choice Selection: Hinode, Peter Graham
Adventures in Brass - Ray Farr

Skeie GladBrass:
Einar Mæland
Own Choice Selection: Kaleidoscope (Five Variations on the Brugg Song) - Philip Sparke

The three people to really impress though are adjudicators, Arnfinn Dalhaug and Geir Ulseth.

4BR Prediction: 

Who will win?

Well, to tell you the truth, we haven't a clue, although that has never stopped us in the past. So here we go.

1. Skeie Gald Brass
2. Manger Old Star Brass
3. Fitjar Musikklag
4. Lismarka/Mesnali Brass
5. Grenland Brass
6. Fagernes Musikkorps

Dark Horse: Sauda Musikklag

2005 Result:

1.  Fagernes Musikkorps (Tor Arthur Hagen) - 95
2.  Manger Old Star Brass (Johannes Mangersnes) - 92
3.  Skittenelv Musikkorps (Tor Kr. Ravnanger Innbjør) - 91
4.  Eikelandsfjorden Musikklag (Knut Harald Rydland) - 90
5.  Brumund-Nordaasen Musikkforening (Botolv Gjeldaker) - 89
6.  Grenland Brass (Magne Rutle) - 88
7.  Skeie Glad Brass (Einar Mæland) - 87
8.  Flå Musikkorps (Odd Steinar Mørkved) - 86
9.  Ungdomskorpset Samklang (Kristin Myrmæl) - 84
10.  Fitjar Musikklag (Torstein Hatlevik) - 83
11.  Musikkorpset Heimdal (Pål W. Jøsok) - 82
12.  Rudsbygd Brass (Grethe Berntsen) - 81
13.  Lismarka/Mesnali Brass (Erling J. Myrseth) - 78
14.  Gjallarhorn (Harald Førde) - 76
15.  Sauda Musikklag (Eli-Jorun Tangeraas) - 75
16.  Kvikne Hornmusikk (Ingrid Øien) - 73


2016   2015   2014   2013   2012
2011   2010   2009   2008   2007
2006   2005   2004 (1)   2004 (2)   2003
2002   2001