4BarsRest logo
Butterworth CD - available with 4BR shopping



news desk

articles & features


results archive


classified ads

your comments

go shopping




2003 Yorkshire Regional Qualifying Championships

Fourth Section
St. George's Hall, Bradford
Sunday 2nd March
Starts: 9.15am

David Horsfield

Just the eight bands for David Horsfield to judge this year, and that is a great pity and worry for banding in Yorkshire. There were 31 bands here in 1983.

The reduction in bands has also meant that success at the Finals themselves has been a little harder to come by than of late as well with the last Yorkshire winners being Frickley/South Elmshall in 1994 and Todmorden Old in 1995. Since then the closest a band has come to winning the title was in 1999, when Yorkshire Traction Honley came runners up. Apart from that it has been pretty low placings each year.

The good thing to report though is that all the winning bands here since 1992 are still going strong, so that is something to celebrate. Dearne Valley and the Friendly Band return back to the section this year after being relegated from the 3rd Section and for us at least there is one new band in the form of Grange Moor (we may be wrong here, so apologies if we are). Linthwaite will be hoping to make it a double triumph.

The bands will have to get to grips with an enjoyable yet difficult set work that should test them all to the full, so the winners will have to have mastered all the basics. Even though they are low on numbers then, it should still be a fascinating contest.

Dearne Valley
Conductor: H. Wright

Last Year: 12th 3rd Section (rel)
Last Seven Years:
2002: 12th 3rd Section (rel)
2001: 11th 3rd Section
2000: 3rd (prom)
1999: 3rd
1998: 7th
1997: 7th
1996: 11th 3rd Section (rel)

A band that has been up and down between the two sections in recent years, and so they will be keen to ensure that they bounce back once more this time. A new MD for this year’s attempt and they will be keen to at least repeat their double third placings of 1999 and 2000.

Dinnington Colliery
Conductor: T. Bannan

Last Year: 4th
Last Seven Years:
2002: 4th
2001: 4th
2000: 8th
1999: 4th

A band with a solid record here over the past four years and with Toby Bannan at the helm bringing a touch of Grimethorpe experience with him, they could well fancy their chances of improving on the last two years when they have just finished out of the top three. With three 4th places in the past four years then, could 2003 finally see them take that extra step?

Friendly Band (Sowerby Bridge)
Conductor: C. Caton

Last Year: 10th 3rd Section (rel)
Last Seven Years:
2002: 10th 3rd Section (rel)
2001: 9th 3rd Section
2000: 10th 3rd Section
1999: 6th (prom)
1998: 3rd
1997: 11th 3rd Section (rel)
1996: 14th 3rd Section

Another band that has yo–yo’d a bit between the 4th and 3rd sections in recent years and so they will be hoping that this year will be an upswing year. Relegated back after coming 9th and 10th in the higher section for the past two outings they will be keen to put in a good solid show here and make their mark.

Gawthorpe Brass
Conductor: D. Hoyle

Last Year: 3rd
Last Seven Years:
2002: 3rd
2001: 8th
2000: 4th

Nearly made it last year when they came 3rd, Gawthorpe Brass are a solid band at this level who could well have it in them to go at least one better than 2002 and get one of those two qualification spots that are on offer.

Grange Moor
Conductor: D. Beckley

Last Year: First year competing.
Last Seven Years:

We don’t know anything about Grange Moor we are afraid other than Duncan Beckley is the man in the middle for their attempt. If someone has informatio about the band then please let us know.

Conductor: S. Platten

Last Year: Winners
Last Seven Years:
2002: Winners
2001: 5th
2000: 9th
1999: DNC
1998: DNC
1997: 14th 3rd Section
1996: 12th 3rd Section

Last years winners could well be favourites once more to take the top prize in 2003. Last year they went on to the National Finals where they came 11th and that experience should hold them in good stead for a repeat performance here. The band to bet we think and as their past results have shown, a band that has continued to improve with each outing at Bradford.

Lofthouse 2000
Conductor: A. Whitaker

Last Year: 5th
Last Seven Years:
2002: 5th
2001: DNC

Tony Whitaker directed the band into 5th place last year, and the experienced MD will be keen to repeat or even better that this time around. A young band if the title is anything to go by – an extra years practice should see them feature.

Thurcroft Welfare
Conductor: M. Battersby

Last Year: 7th
Last Seven Years:
2002: 7th
2001: 9th
2000: 12th 3rd Section
1999: 11th 3rd Section
1998: 4th (prom)
1997: 3rd
1996: 4th

Thurcroft Welfare came 7th last year, an improvement of two places from 2001, and they will be keen to keep that upward improvement going this year as well. A new MD this time at Bradford, and the band will be hoping to a return to the 3rd section after winning promotion from this level in 1998.

Past Winners:

2002: Linthwaite
2001: Clifton and Lightcliffe
2000: Wetherby and District
1999: Maltby Miners
1998: Stanley Newmarket Colliery
1997: Gawthorpe ‘85
1996: Gawthorpe ‘85
1995: Elland Silver
1994: Elland Silver
1993: Linthwaite
1992: Cottingham

Winning Conductors:

2002: S. Platten
2001: R. Collinson
2000: G. Kearsley
1999: T. Clifford
1998: P. Kitson
1997: J. Edward
1996: J. Edward
1995: J. Harrison
1994: J. Harrison
1993: D. Pogson
1992: R. Grantham

T est Pieces:

2002: Suite in B Flat – G. Jacobs
2001: Sinfonietta Pastorale – H. Geehl
2000: The Haslemere Suite – P. Graham
1999: Indian Summer – E. Ball
1998: Solemn Melody – Walford – Davies and Scenes from a Comedy - Hopkinson
1997: Pennine Moors – D. Barry
1996: Mexican Fiesta – R. Hanmer
1995: Little Suite for Brass No1 – M. Arnold
1994: The Journeyman – R. Steadman - Allen
1993: Impromptu
1992: The Seafarers


2002: B. Thompson
2001: C. Wormald
2000: J. Maines
1999: C. Hardy
1998: J. Maines
1997: N/K
1996: N/K
1995: G. Whitham

Past Qualifiers:

2002: Linthwaite, Emley Brass
2001: Clifton and Lightcliffe, Maltby Miners Welfare
2000: Wetherby and District, Oughtibridge
1999: Maltby Miners, Yorkshire Traction
1998: Stanley Newmarket Coll, Yorkshire Traction
1997: Gawthorpe Brass ’85, Walkley Clogs Hebden Bridge
1996: Gawthorpe Brass ’85, Sheffield Youth
1995: Elland Silver, Todmorden Old

Yorkshire bands at the Finals:

2002: 11th, 21st
2001: 10th, 11th
2000: 13th, 14th
1999: 2nd, 17th
1998: 7th, 17th

Last Years Result:

1. Linthwaite – S. Platten 179pts
2. Emley Brass – J. Bowden 177pts
3. Gawthorpe Brass – G. Hallas 175pts
4. Dinnington Colliery – T. Bannan 174pts
5. Lofthouse 2000 – A. Whitaker 173pts
6. Barnsley Metropolitan – J. Grinnell 172pts
7. Thurcroft Welfare – P. Dickens 171pts
8. Ripponden Carriers – B. Greenwood 170pts

4BR Prediction:

With such a small field it is always difficult to be as accurate as possible with the predictions, but we think it could well be a repeat of last year with Linthwaite holding onto their title and having the chance to make the trip up to Dundee. We also think Dinnington may well make that final improvement and gain the other qualification spot this time around, with Gawthorpe and Friendly Band also challenging.

After that it could be a toss up between all the rest, but on the information we have we think it could be Dearne, Thurcroft and the and Lofthouse challenging hard.

1. Linthwaite
2. Dinnington
3. Gawthorpe
4. Friendly Band
5. Dearne Valley
6. Thurcroft Welfare

Dark Horse: Lofthouse 2000.

© 4BarsRest

back to top

Muted cornet

print a bandroom copy


  copyright & disclaimer

Fax: 01495 791085 E-Mail:

Butterworth CD - available with 4BR shopping